message board

You are not logged in.

#1 05-09-2007 20:34:50

Old Lob
Administrator

Please Talk!

Hi...please have a go...it's not as difficullt as it looks! I'll be looking out for you..
http://i196.photobucket.com/albums/aa40/Lord_Lob/eyes.gif

Digging for Victory

#2 27-09-2007 20:22:20

Slimpickins

Re: Please Talk!

Hi Old Lob.... I'm kinda new to this gardenin' lark. Any tips on growing good stuff in the greenhouse I've just inherited?     
Look forward to hearin' from y'all.........Slim

#3 02-10-2007 15:52:48

fergus
Administrator

Hi Slim,
Don't ask Old Lob about greenhouses - he drops things on top of his plants.
I'll answer your query:
What size is greenhouse? Is it heated? Is it glass? Orientation/away from shade etc?
How have you set up staging/floor area? What plants do you like - flowers/vegetables/foliage? Are you aware of good hygene?(not for you - for the greenhouse.)
Just some routine questions til we get a feel for it.
Cheers
Fergus smile

#4 09-10-2007 19:25:19

Slimpickins

Hiya Fergus,
Greenhouse is 8x6', aluminium frame with glass and I've got it well away from house in plenty of sunshine. Roughly N-S, have one side with bench other open soil & slabs up middle.
I like vegetables & hope to grow tomatoes, cucumber etc.
Can I grow anything thro' thu winter?
cheers y'all
slim

#5 27-10-2007 23:35:07

Old Lob
Administrator

I admire your idea, for me winter is a time to be sitting by the fire looking through seed catalogues hoping my friend will buy too many seeds and pass the excess to me...and not to leave it too late as he normaly does! 

Anyway the following are well worth trying:
Potatoes grown in a big flower pot or bucket in the greenhouse. The same goes for spinach, kale, and some varieties of lettuce . Check the seed merchants' catalogues for suitable varieties.

Certain kinds of onion work well from an autumn sowing as well and you'll get a much earlier crop than if you'd waited till spring.